top of page
Oleosophia_Logo_Brand_Transparent.png

Why Oleosophia ?

Oleosophia 2022 Berlin GOOA Silver Award

Oleosophia or the search for wisdom through the olive

 

Oleosophia is the fruit of the wisdom of olive oil and the unification of two families, that of George and that of Marianna. Located along the slopes of Mount Fokas, in the village of Kalentzi, near Corinth, Greece, Oleosophia offers two extra virgin olive oils:

  • Manaki Monovarietal Extra Virgin Olive Oil from first cold pressing – Early Harvest

  • Manaki & Megaritiki – Harvest of mnovember holse

 

The variety of olive Manaki is a variety of olive originating from regions of Corinth and Argolis, in the northeastern part of Peloponnese. This local variety is quite rare and difficult to find due to the fact that it is a more delicate variety in terms of cultivation and yield.

The Manaki olives are harvested at the end of October (early harvest) and give birth to the flagship product of the Oleosophia production: Manaki Monovarietal Extra Virgin Olive Oil from first cold pressing – early harvest. This extra virgin olive oil is fruity, with aromas of grass, leaves, green pepper, artichoke and a touch of citrus. Its bitterness and spiciness are of medium intensity, which makes it very user-friendly. It goes very well with fish, white meats and green salads.

The variety of olive Megaritiki (or Megaron) finds its origins in the neighboring region of Megara. Once the early harvest of the Manaki is complete, it is the turn of the Megaritiki and also Manaki olives to be harvested in mid-November. This extra virgin olive oil is an almost natural blend because it is produced from two varieties of olives that are grown together, in the same field, harvested together and crushed together.

But why this common cultivation of these two varieties of olives? The olive tree flowers in May or June, depending on the variety. Unlike many other fruit trees, pollen, necessary for the pollination process, is not carried by pollinating insects but it's the wind that does all the work.  The olive tree self-pollinates more or less easily depending on the variety. The Manaki variety has low self-pollination ability, while the Megaritiki is more hardy. Therefore, the Megaritiki tree helps the Manaki to pollinate itself. It takes one Megaritiki olive tree for every four Manaki trees (80%-20%).

Manaki & Megaritiki – November Harvest offer us slightly sweeter flavors that remind us of ripe tomato, oregano, chamomile, herbs. Bitterness and spiciness are medium with a touch of pepper. This olive oil goes well with red meat, roasted vegetables, soups and pasta.

Oleosophia presents here two excellent extra virgin oils.  Manaki Monovarietal Extra Virgin Olive Oil has been awarded several times in numerous competitions, including the silver medal at the Berlin competition in 2022.  These are limited edition products, with quantities limited to the annual harvest.

Oleosophia_Logo_Brand_Transparent.png
Oleosophia_2022_Berlin_GOOA_Silver_Award.webp
bottom of page

top of page
Oleosophia Logo Brand

Pourquoi Oleosophia ?

Oleosophia 2022 Berlin GOOA Silver Award

Oleosophia ou la recherche de la sagesse à travers l’olive

 

Oleosophia est le fruit de la sagesse de l’huile d’olive et l’unification de deux familles, celle de George et celle de Marianna. Leur oliveraie familiale est située le long des pentes du mont Fokas, dans le village de Kalentzi, près de Corinthe, en Grèce.  Oleosophia propose deux huiles d’olive extra vierge :

  • l’huile d’olive extra vierge monovariétale Manaki de première pression à froid – récolte précoce

  • l’huile d’olive extra vierge Manaki & Megaritiki – Récolte du mois de novembre

 

La variété d'olive Manaki est une variété d'olive originaire des régions de Corinthe et de l’Argolie, dans la partie Nord-Est du Péloponnèse, en Grèce. Cette variété locale est assez rare et difficile à trouver en raison du fait qu'il s'agit d'une variété plus délicate en termes de culture et de rendement.

Les olives Manaki sont récoltées à la fin du mois d’octobre (récolte précoce) et donnent naissance au produit-phare de la production Oleosophia : l’huile d’olive extra vierge monovariétale Manaki de première pression à froid – récolte précoce. Cette huile d'olive extra vierge est fruitée, avec des arômes d'herbe, de feuilles, de poivron vert, d'artichaut et une touche d'agrumes. Son amertume et son piquant sont d'intensité moyenne, ce qui la rend très conviviale. Elle se marie très bien avec le poisson, les viandes blanches et la salade verte.

La variété d’olive Megaritiki (ou Megaron) quant à elle trouve ses origines dans la région voisine de Mégare. Une fois la récolte précoce de la Manaki achevée, c’est au tour des olives Megaritiki et également Manaki d’être récoltées à la mi-novembre. Cet huile d'olive extra vierge est un assemblage presque naturel car il est produit à partir de deux variétés d'olives qui sont cultivées ensemble, dans le même champ, récoltées ensemble et broyées ensemble.

Mais pourquoi cette culture commune de ces deux variétés d’olives? L’olivier fleurit au mois de mai ou de juin, selon les variétés. Contrairement à beaucoup d’autres arbres fruitiers, le pollen, nécessaire au processus de pollinisation, n’est pas transporté par les insectes pollinisateurs mais c’est le vent qui fait tout le travail.  L’olivier s’auto-pollinise plus ou moins facilement suivant les variétés. La variété Manaki a une faible capacité d'auto-pollinisation, tandis que la Megaritiki est plus robuste. Par conséquent, l'arbre Megaritiki aide la Manaki à se polliniser. Il faut un olivier Megaritiki pour quatre arbres Manaki (80%-20%).

L’huile d’olive extra vierge Manaki & Megaritiki – récolte du mois de novembre nous offre des arômes légèrement plus sucrés qui nous rappellent la tomate mûre, l'origan, la camomille, les herbes. L’amertume et le piquant sont moyens avec une touche de poivre. Cette huile d’olive se marie bien avec la viande rouge, les légumes rôtis, les veloutées et les pâtes.

Oleosophia présente ici deux excellentes huiles extra vierge.  L’huile d’olive extra vierge monovariétale Manaki a été médaillée à plusieurs reprises à de nombreux concours dont la médaille d’argent au concours de Berlin en 2022.  Il s’agit de produits en édition limitée, les quantités étant limitées à la récolte annuelle.

Oleosophia Logo Brand
Oleosophia 2022 Berlin_GOOA Silver Award
bottom of page